A B C D E F G H I J L M N O P R S T U W
AARP AgeLine
Available from AARP through the Internet
Searchable database of statistics and a variety of information about aging. This database is available free on the Internet and it has been selected by Ann Hallyburton, Health Sciences Liaison, as appropriate for authority and content of information in the subject area(s) of the health professions.
Abstracts in Anthropology 1998 - present
Available from Baywood Publishing Company, Inc. through Hunter Library
Provides abstracts of books, articles and conference papers in archaeology, ethnology, linguistics and physical anthropology. Pertinent articles in non-anthropological journals are also included. The simple interface allows for phrase, keyword, and Boolean searching in the title or abstract fields, plus author and year searches. Drill-down subject browsing is also available.
Database contains abstracts
Academic Search Premier 1980 - present
Available from EBSCOhost through NC LIVE
An index to articles in over 8,200 journals covering all subject areas. Includes full text for over 4,500 of those journals.
Database contains full text
ACM Digital Library 1954 - present
Available from ACM through Hunter Library
The ACM Digital Library provides access to the full text of all articles published in Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) journals, magazines, and conference proceedings and newsletters dating back to Volume 1. It also provides access to selected works published by affiliated organizations.
Database contains full text
Administration on Aging
Available from Department of Health and Human Services through the Internet
Links to government web sites that give statistical information about older persons. This database is available free on the Internet and it has been selected by Ann Hallyburton, Health Sciences Liaison, as appropriate for authority and content of information in the subject area(s) of the health professions.
African American Song
Available from Alexander Street Press through Hunter Library
African American Song is the first online resource to document the history of African American music in an online music listening service. The collection contains approximately 16,000 tracks from a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, among others. Additional tracks and labels are added to the database regularly.
Database contains audio
African-American Poetry 1750 - 1900
Available from Chadwyck-Healey through NC LIVE
Search or browse nearly 3,000 poems written by African-American poets in the late eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Database contains full text
AGRICOLA 1400s - present
Available from National Agricultural Library through the Internet
The National Agricultural Library provides article citations from 1984 to the present and book citations from the 15th century to the present for a variety of topics related to USDA activities. AGRICOLA has been selected by Krista Schmidt, Science Liaison, as appropriate for searching for information in biology and agriculture.
Database contains citations
Journal
Titles Covered in Database
Alternative Press Index 1991 - present
Available from FirstSearch through Hunter Library
Indexes over 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Includes selected abstracts from research journals and links to full-text articles when available.
Database contains citations
Journal
Titles Covered in Database
Alternative Press Index Archive 1969 - 1990
Available from FirstSearch through Hunter Library
Indexes over 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Includes selected abstracts from research journals and links to full-text articles when available.
Database contains citations
America: History & Life 1964 - present
Available from EBSCOhost through Hunter Library
An index to articles in over 2,000 journals covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Also includes dissertations and book reviews.
Database contains abstracts
Journal
Titles Covered in Database
Database
Help/Tutorials
American Chemical Society Publications 1879 - present
Available from American Chemical Society through Hunter Library
Provides access to current full text for 13 ACS journals as well as access to the archived full-text of all ACS publications. Journal subjects include Applied Chemistry/Chemical Engineering, Biochemistry/Biotechnology, Core Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Pharmaceuticals, and Polymers & Materials Science.
Database contains full text
American FactFinder
Available from U.S. Census Bureau through the Internet
Includes population and housing information in table or map formats from 1990 and 2000; geographic comparison tables; American Community Surveys since 1996; the Economic Census from 1997 (2002 coming soon); annual population estimates from 2000; and more. This database is available free on the Internet and it has been selected by Hunter Librarians as appropriate for authority and content of information.
Database contains full text
American Memory
Available from Library of Congress through the Internet
American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congress's vast resources of digitized American historical materials which include manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music. Collections may be browsed individually, searched individually (including full-text searching for many written items), or searched across multiple collections.
Database contains full text
American National Biography 1975 - present
Available from Oxford University Press through Hunter Library
ANB Online contains biographies of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. It does not include living persons. This is the successor to the Dictionary of American Biography, which ceased publication.
Database contains full text
Database
Help/Tutorials
American Periodical Series Online 1740 - 1900
Available from ProQuest through Hunter Library
American Periodical Series Online (APS Online) includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.
Database contains full text
American Poetry 1600 - 1900
Available from Chadwyck-Healey through NC LIVE
Search or browse the collection of over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century.
Database contains full text
Database
Help/Tutorials
American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography
Available from Greenwood through NC LIVE
A collection of the life histories of former slaves in the United States compiled through nearly 4,000 interviews with ex-slaves.
Database contains full text
Database
Help/Tutorials
American State Papers 1789 - 1838
Available from NewsBank through Hunter Library
American State Papers are "Legislative and executive documents, many originating from the important period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817."
Database contains full text
America's Historical Newspapers 1690 - 1922
Available from NewsBank through Hunter Library
Search or browse the full-text of over 1,000 early American newspapers published between 1690 and 1922. This database includes titles from all fifty states and there are nine titles for North Carolina alone. Also included are several early newspapers in languages such as French and German.
Database contains full text
America's Newspapers: North Carolina 1985 - present
Available from NewsBank through NC LIVE
Provides full-text coverage of 14 North Carolina newspapers including the Asheville Citizen-Times (1999 to present), the Charlotte Observer (1985 to present), Durham Herald Sun (1995 to present), the Greensboro News and Record (1990 to present), the Raleigh News and Observer (1990 to present), Wilmington’s Star News (1997 to present), and the Winston-Salem Journal (1997 to present). This database also provides the full text of 10 U.S. newspapers.
Database contains full text
Journal
Titles Covered in Database
Database
Help/Tutorials
Annals of American History 1493 - present
Available from Encyclopaedia Britannica through NC LIVE
"Annals of American History illuminate U.S. history from 1493 to modern times in over 2,000 primary documents."
Database contains full text
Database
Help/Tutorials
Applied Science & Technology Abstracts 1983 - present
Available from EBSCOhost through Hunter Library
Index to 600+ international and English-language periodicals, covering engineering, mathematics, physics, and computer technology. Also includes links to available full-text articles.
Database contains full text
Art Full Text 1984 - present
Available from H.W. Wilson through Hunter Library
Contains information about all aspects of the visual arts including interior design, motion pictures and museology. In addition to articles, there are reproductions of works of art. Full-text coverage is for selected titles. Print counterpart: Art Index (Ref Index Table) indexes articles from 1929 to 2005.
Database contains full text
Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975 - present
Available from ISI Web of Knowledge through Hunter Library
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI ) provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in nearly 1,130 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals. Access A&HCI via Web of Science by clicking the Limit to: (Change Limits) link at the bottom of the screen and selecting A&HCI.
Database contains abstracts
Arts & Humanities Search 1980 - present
Available from FirstSearch through Hunter Library
A citation index as well as a comprehensive index to articles in arts and humanities. Also includes links to available full-text articles.
Database contains citations
Journal
Titles Covered in Database
ARTstor
Available from ARTstor, Inc. through Hunter Library
A collection of 500,000 images that document artistic traditions across many cultures and time periods: architecture, sculpture, photography, design as well as other forms of visual culture. Technical Requirements:
Flash Player 6 or above, Java (Sun Version 1.3 or higher), Cookies enabled, Pop-up blocking software must allow pop-ups from www.artstor.org, Monitor resolution: 1024 X 768 recommended, Memory: 128 MB or higher.
Database contains images
Database
Help/Tutorials
arXiv.org e-Print Archive 1991 - present
Available from Cornell University Library through the Internet
arXiv.org provides open access to full-text e-prints and preprints in Mathematics, Physics, Computer Science and Quantitative Biology. You may prefer the UC Davis front end for the mathematics archive. This database is available free on the Internet and it has been selected by Jill Ellern, Liaison to Math & Computer Science, as appropriate for authority and content of information in the subject area of math.
Database contains full text
Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA)
Available from EBSCOhost through
This bibliographic database covers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Topics include archaeology , multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy BNNA contains over 122,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present. This is a 60 day trial. Send comments to Susan Metcalfe at metcalf@email.wcu.edu
Biographical Directory of the United States Congress 1774 - present
Available from United States Congress through the Internet
A biographical guide to the more than 13,000 individuals who have served in the national legislature and Continental Congress, updated through the 105th Congress. The database may be searched by name, position, and state. This database is available free on the Internet and it has been selected by Hunter Librarians, as appropriate for authority and content of information in the subject area of biography.
Database contains full text
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Available from Gale Group through Hunter Library
A comprehensive index to more than 12.7 million biographical sketches in more than 3,400 reference books, covering both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world.
Database contains citations
Journal
Titles Covered in Database
Database
Help/Tutorials
Biological & Agricultural Index 1983 - present
Available from EBSCOhost through Hunter Library
Index to 335+ English-language journals, covering biology, nutrition, natural resource management, and environmental studies. Also includes links to available full-text articles.
Database contains full text
Biological Abstracts 1969 - present
Available from ISI Web of Knowledge through WNCLN
Provides citations and abstracts of research reported in nearly 6,000 life sciences journals worldwide. Topics relate to vital biological and medical research findings, clinical studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Also includes links to available full-text articles.
Database contains citations
Database
Help/Tutorials
BioMed Central
Available from BioMed Central through the Internet
Provides free, open access to the full-text of peer-reviewed biomedical research originally published by BioMed Central. Some features of some journals (e.g., review articles) are only available via subscription. BioMed Central is available for free on the Internet and it has been selected by Krista Schmidt, Science Liaison, as appropriate for authority and content in the subject areas of biology and medicine.
Database contains full text
Books in Print
Available from Bowker through Hunter Library
A bibliographic database with information on more than 5.6 million in-print, out-of-print, forthcoming, book, audio book, and video titles. Also included are full-text reviews from 15 respected, professional sources such as Booklist, Publishers Weekly, Library Journal, and Choice.
Database contains full text
Britannica Online
Available from Encyclopaedia Britannica through NC LIVE
The online version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica allows users to "create a customized page for a research project" by using the Workspace feature where one can store, retrieve, and clear encyclopedia articles at any time.
Database contains full text
Britannica Online Kids Edition
Available from Bratinnica through NC Live
Includes three encyclopedias for all levels of reading, 26,000 images and video clips, maps of more than 200 countries, all U.S. states, and all Canadian provinces. Also includes learning Materials that incorporate more than 65 interactive guides to language arts, mathematics, and science into the classroom. Core concept reviews, activities, images, and Web links are included. Resources for Teachers help incorporate the encyclopedia and the Internet into the curriculum.
Database contains full text
Business Source Premier 1965 - present
Available from EBSCOhost through NC LIVE
An index to full text articles in over 8,800 journals covering all areas of business and industry. Also includes market research reports, industry reports, company profiles, and more.
Database contains full text
CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online) 3000 BCE - present
Available from RLG through NC LIVE
An image database. Media include photographs, prints, sculpture, paintings, decorative arts, drawings, architecture, and textiles dating from 3000 BC to the 21st Century. The standard for image resolution is 1024 x 768 pixels. Images may be printed or exported for educational purposes. (CAMIO supercedes AMICO, Art Museum Image Consortium).
Database contains images
CCH Internet - The Tax Research Network 1978 - present
Available from CCH Inc. through Hunter Library
A comprehensive service providing current and historical materials for state and federal tax research.
Database contains full text
Number of Simultaneous Users: 14
Chemical Abstracts via SciFinder Scholar 1907 - present
Available from SciFinder Scholar/STN Easy through Hunter Library
Chemical Abstracts can be used to perform in-depth searches on chemical- or chemistry- related topics. For more general chemistry topic searches, consider using Biological & Agricultural Index, Academic Search Elite. Off campus? Click here.
Database contains abstracts
Number of Simultaneous Users: 2
Other User Limitations: This database is restricted to use by only chemistry and biology faculty, staff, and students (majors and graduate students). ID and password may be obtained by contacting Krista Schmidt at 227-2215 or kschmidt@email.wcu.edu
CHEMnetBASE
Available from Taylor & Francis through Hunter Library
CHEMnetBase provides full-text access to eight major chemical reference works including the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, Dictionary of Organic Compounds, Dictionary of Natural Products, Dictionary of Drugs, and the Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds. Choose any one of the reference sources to search (they cannot be searched all together). Substructure searching is available for the majority of the titles.
Database contains full text
CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health) 1982 - present
Available from EBSCOhost through NC LIVE
An index to articles in nursing, allied health, and biomedical journals. Also includes health care books, dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, and more.
Database contains full text
Civil Engineering Database 1970 - present
Available from American Society of Civil Engineers through the Internet
Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) provides access to citations and abstracts in American Society of Civil Engineers publications. CEDB is available for free on the Internet and has been selected by Jill Ellern, Liaison to Engineering, as appropriate for authority and content of information in the subject area of construction management.
Database contains abstracts
Clase and Periodica 1975 - present
Available from FirstSearch through Hunter Library
Clase indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. Periodica covers journals specializing in science and technology. This database contains citations from documents published in over 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages. Also includes links to available full-text articles.
Database contains citations
Journal
Titles Covered in Database
Classical Music Library
Available from Alexander Street Press through Hunter Library
Classical Music Library is the world's largest multi-label database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries. Coverage of repertoire is increasing as new labels are added (currently over 32 labels),
Database contains audio
Cochrane Library
Available from Wiley InterScience through Hunter Library
Premier source for evidence based medicine information. Systematic reviews, practice methodologies, protocols, and more, all in full text online. Covers all areas of the health professions.
Database contains full text
Database
Help/Tutorials
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Available from EBSCOhost through Hunter Library
An index to articles in several hundred journals in the areas related to communication and mass media from the early 1900s to the present.
Database contains abstracts
Communication Sciences & Disorders Dome (ComDisDome) 1965 - present
Available from ContentScan, Inc. through Hunter Library
An index to journal articles, books, dissertations, websites and other materials for speech-language pathologists, audiologists, and students in the field of Communication Sciences and Disorders. Also includes links to available full-text articles. Access the previous interface here
Database
Help/Tutorials
Computing Reviews
Available from Association for Computing Machinery through the Internet
Computing Reviews is collection of reviews of computing and mathematics of computing literature. Items arranged by the ACM Computing Classification System where they are compiled into expert, unbiased critical reviews of current publications of note. Computing Reviiews is available for free on the Internet and has been selected by Jill Ellern, Liaison to Math & Computer Science, as appropriate for authority and content of information.
Conference Board Research Collection 1998 - present
Available from The Conference Board through Hunter Library
A searchable collection of full-text research reports on the latest issues in business management, and US and global economics. Includes studies of F500 companies and US and global economic indicators, analysis, and forecasts.
Database contains full text
Database
Help/Tutorials
Congressional Research Service 1916 - present
Available from LexisNexis through Hunter Library
Full-text reports written for the U. S. Congress on matters relating to public policy in the United States. Useful for almost any topic: drug testing of athletes, mad cow disease, biofuels, and North Korea's nuclear weapon program. Objective, comprehensive, non-partisan, and written by experts in the field.
Construction Criteria Base
Available from National Institute of Building Sciences through the Internet
An extensive electronic library of construction guide specifications, manuals, standards and more. Contains the complete unabridged, approved, current electronic equivalents of over 10,000 documents direct from participating federal agencies. This database is available for free on the Internet and has been selected by Jill Ellern, Liaison to Engineering, as appropriate for authority and content of information in the subject area of construction management.
Contemporary Women's Issues 1992 - present
Available from FirstSearch through Hunter Library
Index to articles from journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies on women in over 150 countries. Citations only, with links to available full-text articles.
Journal
Titles Covered in Database
CQ Researcher Online 1923 - present
Available from CQ Press through NC LIVE
Provides in-depth, non-biased reporting and analysis of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
Database contains full text
CQ Weekly Online 1983 - present
Available from CQ Press through NC LIVE
Coverage of the U.S. Congress, including the status of bills, votes and amendments, and floor and committee activity.
Criminal Justice Periodical Index 1981 - present
Available from ProQuest through Hunter Library
An index to over 100 U.S., British, and Canadian journals in criminal justice and related disciplines.
Database contains full text
Journal
Titles Covered in Database
Critical Companions to Popular Contemporary Writers
Available from Greenwood through NC LIVE
An in-depth analysis of current, best-selling fiction providing details about the complexities of these carefully selected titles. Updated annually.
Database contains full text
Daily Life Through History 12000 BCE - present
Available from Greenwood through NC LIVE
Daily Life Through History offers a detailed portrayal of what life was like for ordinary people in different cultures throughout history.
Database contains full text
Database of Award Winning Children’s Literature (DAWCL)
Available from Lisa Bartle through the Internet
An index to more than 7,000 award-winning children’s books representing 78 awards across six English-speaking countries. This database is available for free on the Internet and has been selected by Beth McDonough/Education Liaison as appropriate for authority and content in the subject area of chidren's literature.
Database contains citations
Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online 1000 - 1930
Available from National Archives of Canada and National Library of Canada through the Internet
Full-text biographies of individuals who played an important role in the formation of Canada from 1000 to 1930. Users may search by name and limit by gender, geography, identification (e.g., aboriginal people, explorers, inventors, etc.) as well as by date range of death. This database is available free on the Internet and it has been selected by Hunter Librarians as appropriate for authority and content of information in the subject area of biography.
Database contains full text
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Available from Lund University Libraries through the Internet
DOAJ indexes and links to the titles of free, full-text, quality-controlled, scientific and scholarly journals. Subjects covered include the arts, business, education, life and physical sciences, and the social sciences. This database is available for free on the Internet and has been selected by Hunter Librarians as appropriate for authority and content of information.
Database contains full text
Dissertation Abstracts 1860 - present
Available from FirstSearch through Hunter Library
Abstracts of dissertations in all academic subjects from accredited institutions. Indexing only from 1861; abstracts of dissertations from 1980; abstracts of theses from 1988.
Database contains abstracts
Documenting the American South
Available from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill through the Internet
Documenting the American South provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Souther perspectives on American history and culture. The collection includes oral history interviews, slave narratives, letters, memoirs, literary works, and artifacts.
Database contains full text
Early American Imprints - Series I: Evans 1638 - 1800 1639 - 1800
Available from Newsbank through Hunter Library
Full-text primary sources from 17th and 18th-century America. Includes advertisements, almanacs, broadsides, catalogs, charters, cookbooks, elegies, erotica, laws, maps, narratives, novels, pamphlets, plays, poems, primers, sermons, songs, speeches, textbooks, and more. Search by keyword or browse by genre, subjects, author, history of printing, place of publication, or language. This collection is based on the renowned bibliography by Charles Evans.
Database contains full text
Early American Imprints - Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker 1801 - 1819 1801 - 1819
Available from Newsbank through Hunter Library
Full-text primary sources published in the early part of the 19th century. Includes broadsides, diaries, genealogies, letters, maxims, memoirs, primers, puzzles, sermons, slave narratives, songs, treaties, and wills. Also includes works of many European authors reprinted for the American public. Search by keyword or browse by genre, subjects, author, history of printing, place or publication, or language. The collection is based on the distinguished bibliography by Ralph B. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker
Database contains full text
Early English Books Online (EEBO) 1473 - 1700
Available from Chadwyck through Hunter Library
This collection contains reproductions, dating from 1473-1700, of the original printing of more than 100,000 works, from the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare. Subject areas represented include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.
Database contains full text
ebrary
Available from ebrary through Hunter Library
Hunter Library’s ebrary collection contains approximately 35,000 full-text ebooks spanning most academic disciplines. The database is full-text searchable; allows the creation of personalized bookshelves, notes, and highlights; and includes an interactive suite of reference tools.
EBSCO Encyclopedia of Animals 1984 - present
Available from EBSCOhost through NC LIVE
EBSCO's Encyclopedia of Animals contains indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.
Database contains full text
EBSCOhost
Available from EBSCOhost through NC LIVE
Introductory page to 35 different databases.
EconLit 1969 - present
Available from FirstSearch through Hunter Library
Index to journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers. Includes abstracts and links to available full-text articles.
Journal
Titles Covered in Database
eHRAF World Cultures
Available from Human Relations Area Files, Inc. through Hunter Library
A cross-cultural database that contains full-text information on world cultures. This database supplements the Library microfiche collection of world cultures.
Database contains full text
Database
Help/Tutorials
Electronic Books
Available from FirstSearch through Hunter Library
A catalog of online electronic books available through libraries worldwide. Updated daily, this database contains both netLibrary, public domain, and other ebooks.
Database contains abstracts
Encyclopaedia Britannica
Available from Encyclopaedia Britannica through NC LIVE
See also Britannica Online.
Database contains full text
English Poetry 600 - 1900
Available from Chadwyck-Healey through NC LIVE
Essentially the complete English poetic canon from 600 to 1900. Over 165,000 poems by more than 1,250 poets, drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources.
Database contains full text
Database
Help/Tutorials
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) 1966 - present
Available from EBSCOhost through NC LIVE
Provides access to education literature and resources from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1,194,000 records and links to more than 100,000 full-text documents from ERIC. Links to available full text.
Database contains full text
ETS TestLink
Available from ETS through the Internet
A searchable library of more than 25,000 standardized tests and other research instruments. Contains abstracts. This database is available for free on the Internet and has been selected by Beth McDonough/Education Liaison as appropriate for authority and content.
Database contains full text
Faber Poetry Online 1925 - 1999
Available from Chadwyck-Healey through NC LIVE
A collection of some of the most influential poets of the twentieth century.
Database contains full text
Database
Help/Tutorials
Facts on File World News Digest 1940 - present
Available from Facts on File News Services through Hunter Library
Provides full text from the News Digest and a live newsfeed from Reuters® covering events, people, issues, facts, and figures from 1940 to the present. Also includes maps, photographs, historic documents, and special overviews of key issues, newsmakers, and events.
Database contains full text
Faulkner Advisory for Information Technology Studies
Available from Information Today through Hunter Library
A fully searchable database containing hundreds of reports dealing with IT infrastructure, telecommunications, wireless communications, data networking, convergence, information security, enterprise systems, Internet and Web, technology vendors, and more. Includes links to resources covering computer science, education and library sciences, the humanities, mathematics and science, health sciences, and business.
Database contains full text
FirstSearch
Available from OCLC through Hunter Library
Introductory page to Hunter Library's subscription databases. Introductory page to Hunter Library's per-search databases.
Database contains citations
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Available from EBSCOhost through NC LIVE
Provides over 25,000 entries, searchable by subject or keywords within the entry.
Database contains full text
Gale Virtual Reference Library 1999 - present
Available from Thomson Gale through NC LIVE
Provides authoritative articles from a series of over 20 subject-specific encyclopedias and reference books. Users may search the full text of all books by keyword. Click the link to "Show All" to select and search a specific encyclopedia.
Database contains full text
Gartner's Core Research Reference
Available from Gartner through Hunter Library
Focuses on information technology research and its application across a wide range of fields. Searchable reports include spotlights (current issues from different perspectives), special reports (underlying research themes across technology, strategic analysis of trends, industry developments), and published research (companies, products, markets, case studies). Available to WCU students, faculty, and staff via appointments; contact Krista Schmidt (x2215 or kschmidt@email.wcu.edu) for access.
Database contains full text
Gateway to Educational Materials (GEM)
Available from Gateway to Educational Materials Consortium through the Internet
A searchable index of annotated references to more than 50,000 educational resources from federal, state, university, non-profit, and commercial sources. The site hosts the Achievement Standards Network, a repository which includes more than 445 learning standards documents for K-12 education including each of the United States plus national standards in educational content areas. Go to the Achievement Standards Network.
GEOBASE 1980 - present
Available from FirstSearch through Hunter Library
Indexes worldwide literature on geography, geology, and ecology. Includes abstracts and links to available full-text articles.
Database contains abstracts
GEOBIB 1984 - present
Available from American Geographical Society through Hunter Library
A continuation of the print index Current Geographical Publications, this database indexes books, journal articles, government documents, and other publications dealing with geography.
Database contains citations
GeoRefS 1785 - present
Available from FirstSearch through Hunter Library
Citations to over 2,000,000 records about geology and earth sciences. Produced by the American Geological Institute and corresponds to the Bibliography and Index of Geology. The audience for GeoRefS is faculty, graduate students, and geoscience majors. Includes citations and abstracts with links to available full-text articles.
Database contains abstracts
Google US Government Search
Available from Google through the Internet
Narrow your Google web searches to federal and state information by using Google's US Government Search. This database is available free on the Internet and it has been selected by Ann Hallyburton, Health Sciences Liaison, as appropriate for authority and content of information in the subject area(s) of the health professions.
GPO Monthly Catalog 1976 - present
Available from OCLC FirstSearch through Hunter Library
Interdisciplinary. Index to publications of US Congress & government agencies.
Greenwood Digital Collection
Available from Greenwood through NC Live
The Greenwood Digital Collection is a research database containing over 4,000 reference, academic, and general interest ebooks. This collection - focused mostly on history and literature - is a set of complete texts, all searchable by keyword, subject, author, and title.
Database contains full text
Grove Art Online
Available from Oxford University Press through Hunter Library
The most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide, from prehistory to the present.
Database contains full text
Database
Help/Tutorials
Number of Simultaneous Users: 5
Grove Music Online
Available from Oxford University Press through Hunter Library
The most comprehensive online reference resource of all aspects of music worldwide from prehistory to the present.
Database contains full text
Database
Help/Tutorials
Number of Simultaneous Users: 3
Health and Age
Available from HealthandAge Foundation through the Internet
This web site by the Novartis Foundation for Gerontology includes news, articles, questions and answers, and a lot of information about lifestyles (nutrition, exercise, sexuality) and health for the aging. This database is available free on the Internet and it has been selected by Ann Hallyburton, Health Sciences Liaison, as appropriate for authority and content of information in the subject area(s) of the health professions.
Health Source: Consumer Edition 1984 - present
Available from EBSCOhost through NC LIVE
Provides consumer-oriented information on many health topics. Includes full text for over 300 consumer health journals, abstracts and indexing for nearly 300 general health, nutrition and professional periodicals, and thousands of essays covering eight major health-related subjects.
Database contains full text
Journal
Titles Covered in Database
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Available from EBSCOhost through NC LIVE
Provides more than 600 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also included are abstracts and indexing for over 500 journals, USP Pharmacopoeia DI: Volume II Advice for the Lay Patient, and Stedman's Medical Dictionary.
Database contains full text
Journal
Titles Covered in Database
HeritageQuest Online
Available from ProQuest through NC LIVE
A collection of research sources for tracing family history. These include family and local history books, U.S. Federal Census records, the Periodical Source Index (PERSI) - an index to genealogy and local history journals, and Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application files.
Historic Events of the 20th Century
Available from Greenwood through NC LIVE
This online guide offers in-depth insight into the seminal events of the 20th century. Volumes included are: The Civil Rights Movement, The Collapse of Communism in the Soviet Union, The Holocaust, World War I, and World War II.
Database contains full text
Historical Abstracts 1954 - present
Available from EBSCOhost through Hunter Library
Indexes the scholarly literature of world history from 1450 to the present. Provides citations and abstracts for articles from over 2,000 journals published throughout the world. Also included are citations to book and media reviews, as well as dissertations.
Database contains abstracts
Journal
Titles Covered in Database
Database
Help/Tutorials
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)
Available from Naval Postgraduate School through Hunter Library
A database of policy related documents on homeland security. It is organized to support local, state and federal decision-making and analysis and structured to assist scholars and academics in homeland security research.
Hospitality & Tourism Index with Full Text 1965 - present
Available from EBSCOhost through Hunter Library
An index to articles in over 500 national and international periodicals, covering the scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism.
Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective Index: 1907-1984 1907 - 1984
Available from H.W. Wilson through Hunter Library
Search nearly 1,200 journals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907.
ICPSR (Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research)
Available from Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan through Hunter Library
This database "provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use." ICPSR also hosts several special topic archives, sponsored by agencies external to ICPSR, which focus on the archiving of data in specific subject areas.
IEEE Explore 1988 - present
Available from Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. through Hunter Library
Provides full-text online access to the more than 500,000 journal articles, conference proceedings, and standards from the 130+ journals and other publications of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). Topics include electronic engineering, computer engineering, biometrics, homeland security, and telecommunications. Online Training
Database contains full text
Database
Help/Tutorials
Images.MD
Available from Current Medicine Group through Hunter Library
Online encyclopedia of more than 50,000 medical images covering a wide range of subjects and specialties. Images may be downloaded, printed, or used in presentations. Additional functions are available through individual registration.
Database contains images
Database
Help/Tutorials
International Index to Music Periodicals Indexing:1874 - present, abstracts: 1996 - present
Available from Chadwyck-Healey through WNCLN
Indexes more than 400 international music periodicals from over 20 countries. Covers all aspects of world music from scholarly studies to the latest crazes. Also includes links to available full-text articles.
Journal
Titles Covered in Database
Database
Help/Tutorials
Number of Simultaneous Users: 4
International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text 1864 - present
Available from ProQuest and Chadwyck-Healy through Hunter Library
Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry from over 100 popular and scholarly journals. Topics covered: drama, theatre, film, opera, broadcast arts, stagecraft, musical theatre, dance, circus performance, comedy, film, storytelling, pantomime, puppetry, magic, television and more.
Journal
Titles Covered in Database
Database
Help/Tutorials
InterScience 1997 - present
Available from Wiley InterScience through Hunter Library
Full-text access to Wiley InterScience journals published in the sciences, medicine/health care, social sciences, business, and education. Search by topic or browse titles by subject area. Most appropriate for intermediate or advanced users.
IPA Source
Available from IPA Source through Hunter Library
Provides the largest resource for International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Accurate word-for-word translations are available in PDF format. Only works published before 1923 are included. For copyright information about use, read the "Legal Notice."
Database contains full text
JSTOR
Available from JSTOR through Hunter Library
Search for your topic in the full text of over 500 scholarly journals covering over 30 disciplines in the arts, sciences, humanities, and social sciences. JSTOR includes the archival runs of journals, offering cover-to-cover full text back to each journal’s first issue. JSTOR does not usually include the last few years of the journals. Moving Wall
Database contains full text
Journal
Titles Covered in Database
Database
Help/Tutorials
Learning Express Library
Available from Learning Express through NC LIVE
Online practice tests and tutorials for academic and professional licensing tests including the GRE, LSAT, and GMAT.
Database contains full text
LexisNexis Academic
Available from LexisNexis through Hunter Library
Full-text mega-database. Useful for newstopics, current events, business, politics, and law.
Database contains full text
Journal
Titles Covered in Database
Database
Help/Tutorials
LexisNexis Biographical Search
Available from LexisNexis through Hunter Library
Lexis Nexis's Biographical Search finds information on directors, politicians, celebrities, and other leading figures. The information may contain data such as positions, date of birth, education, achievements and interests.
Database contains full text
LexisNexis Company Dossier
Available from LexisNexis through Hunter Library
Use to find information on both public and private companies. Company Dossier will organize the data into categories such as news, financial, legal (for court cases), and intellectual property (for patents). This is especially helpful when searching on large companies. Check the left side of the screen for report types. NOTE: There is often a delay of as long as a minute after clicking on a report type.
Database contains full text
LexisNexis Company Profiles
Available from LexisNexis through Hunter Library
Use to find general profiles and news on public or private companies. Information is organized by data type: directories, newswires, press releases, etc. Useful for finding summary data on small, private companies, e.g., the Mad Batter, or news sources on large companies. Check the left side of the screen for result groups.
Database contains full text
LexisNexis Congressional 1970 - present
Available from LexisNexis through Hunter Library
Provides access to the CIS Index, transcripts of testimony, bills, laws, committees, the Code of Federal Regulations, the Federal Register, the Congressional Record, and other information about the U.S. Congress.
Database contains full text
LexisNexis Statistical 1973 - present
Available from LexisNexis through Hunter Library
Provides abstracts and selected full text of US federal and state government statistical publications including Statistical Abstract of the United States. There are also links to additional government websites that provide statistical information.
Database contains statistics
Journal
Titles Covered in Database
Database
Help/Tutorials
Library Literature & Information Science 1980 - present
Available from EBSCOhost through Hunter Library
Index to 360 library and information science periodicals. Citations only with links to available full-text articles.
Database contains abstracts
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text (LISTA) 1960s - present
Available from EBSCO through Hunter Library
An index to over 600 journals plus books, research reports, and proceedings covering the subjects of librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, and information management.
Database contains full text
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) 1973 - present
Available from ProQuest CSA Illumina through Hunter Library
Provides abstracts of articles from over 1500 scholarly serial publications. Also includes abstracts of book chapters and dissertations in all areas of linguistics and language including "all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics" and "descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, and geographical linguistics." Also covers some topics in communication, special education, and speech and hearing. Links to available full text.
Database contains abstracts
Literature in Context
Available from Greenwood through NC LIVE
20 online "sourcebooks" provide social, cultural, and historical context for classic literature such as Hamlet, The Scarlet Letter, and Things Fall Apart.
Database contains full text
Literature Resource Center
Available from Thomson Gale through Hunter Library
Find biographical information and excerpts of criticism in this online reference tool covering more than 130,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers.
Database contains full text
Log into North Carolina (LINC) 1960 - present
Available from NC State Data Center through the Internet
Current and historical information for census and economic data in a veriety of geographic areas within the state. This database is available free on the Internet and it has been selected by Hunter Librarians as appropriate for authority and content of information.
Database contains statistics
MAD-CAD 1988 - present
Available from Compu.tecture through Hunter Library
MAD-CAD is an online reference database of building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes from BOCA, SBCCI, ICBO, ICC, and NFPA. It also contains knowledge-based design solutions and guidelines to meet the codes.
Database contains full text
Number of Simultaneous Users: 2
MAS Ultra - School Edition 1975 - present
Available from EBSCOhost through NC LIVE
Designed for high school and junior college students. Indexes articles from over 500 K-12 magazines, historical U.S. documents, the CIA World Factbook, Magill's Book Reviews, and full text of 145 Macmillan books.
Database contains full text
MasterFILE Premier 1975 - present
Available from EBSCOhost through NC LIVE
Interdisciplinary, non-scholarly. Indexes 4,000+ general periodicals with full text for 1950+ titles.
Database contains full text
MathSciNet 1940 - present
Available from American Mathematical Society through WNCLN
Index to the full text of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. This database indexes about 1700 serials and journals.
Database contains full text
Journal
Titles Covered in Database
MEDLINE with Full Text 1965 - present
Available from EBSCO through Hunter Library
MEDLINE with Full Text offers more than 1,400,000 full-text articles dating back to 1965 and provides full text for nearly 1,200 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
Database contains full text
MEDLINEplus
Available from National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health through the Internet
From the National Library of Medicine, health information for consumers and professionals on hundreds of diseases and conditions. Please note, this database is NOT the same as the MEDLINE database. This database is available free on the Internet and it has been selected by Ann Hallyburton, Health Sciences Liaison, as appropriate for authority and content of information in the subject area(s) of the health professions.
Database contains full text
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Available from EBSCO through Hunter Library
A comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments within psychology, education, business, and leadership. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present.
Database contains full text
Middle Search Plus 1985 - present
Available from EBSCOhost through NC LIVE
Designed to assist middle and junior high school students in learning how to research current events and information on a wide range of general topics. Also includes the Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia, The Encyclopedia of Animals, Essential Documents in American History, and coverage of the CIA World Factbook.
Database contains full text
Journal
Titles Covered in Database
Military & Government Collection 1965 - present
Available from EBSCOhost through NC LIVE
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a thorough collection of military titles, trade publications, and news weeklies. It also includes abstracts and indexing for nearly 400 titles providing cover-to-cover full text for nearly 350. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets.
Database contains full text
Journal
Titles Covered in Database
MLA Directory of Periodicals
Available from EBSCO through Hunter Library
Provides information to 7,100 periodicals, most of which cover topics in language and literature. Information about each periodical includes subscription prices, circulation, frequency, and submission guidelines.
MLA International Bibliography - EBSCO 1920s - present
Available from EBSCO through Hunter Library
International index provides over 1.8 million citations to journals, books, and dissertations in literature, languages, folklore, & communication. Includes links to available full-text articles. The EBSCO interface provides easy links to some full-text articles, and allows you to “choose” databases and search several databases at once.
Morningstar Library Edition
Available from Morningstar through NC LIVE
Premier database for investment research. Offers selection screeners, independent opinions, and custom comparisons on thousands of stocks and mutual funds.
National Center for Health Statistics
Available from Centers for Disease Control and Prevention through the Internet
The source for health statistics. Includes vital statistics and links to other sites for statistics. This database is available free on the Internet and it has been selected by Ann Hallyburton, Health Sciences Liaison, as appropriate for authority and content of information in the subject area(s) of the health professions.
Database contains statistics
National Guideline Clearninghouse
Available from Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality through the Internet
From the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) and the US Department of Health and Human Services, this tool is a comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents. This database is available free on the Internet and it has been selected by Ann Hallyburton, Health Sciences Liaison, as appropriate for authority and content of information in the subject area(s) of the health professions.
National Institute on Aging
Available from U.S. National Institutes on Health through the Internet
From the National Institute of Health, offers good links to health information regarding the elderly. This database is available free on the Internet and it has been selected by Ann Hallyburton, Health Sciences Liaison, as appropriate for authority and content of information in the subject area(s) of the health professions.
Nature Online 1997 - present
Available from Nature Publishing Group through Hunter Library
An international weekly journal of science.
Database contains full text
NC LIVE
Available from NC LIVE through the State of North Carolina
Introductory page to a comprehensive list of databases, funded by the General Assembly and the citizens of North Carolina.
NC LIVE Media Collection
Available from NC LIVE through the State of North Carolina
The NC LIVE Media Collection is a collection of more than 250 high quality documentary and educational video programs produced for the Public Broadcasting Corporation for PBS. The collection includes covering the sciences, US and world history, biography, current events, and the arts, as well as a variety of other subjects. In addition, several educational series for children are included.
Database contains video
Other User Limitations: Requires Flash Media Player 9.0 or higher and a high-speed Internet connection
NCJRS: National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Available from National Criminal Justice Reference Service through the Internet
Covers federal government research, policy and program development, information on corrections, law enforcement and victims of crime, statistics and more, many full-text. This database is available free on the Internet and it has been selected by Nancy Kolenbrander, Liaison to Criminal Justice, as appropriate for authority and content of information in the subject area of criminal justice.
NetLibrary
Available from netLibrary through NC LIVE
Provides access to the full text of over 25,000 reference, scholarly, professional, and fiction books in electronic or audio formats.
Database contains full text
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
Available from Grove's Dictionaries, Inc through Hunter Library
See also Grove Music Online
Database contains full text
New York Times 1986 - present
Available from ProQuest through NC LIVE
Full-text articles from January 1999 to present. Citations and abstracts from August 1986 to present.
Database contains full text
New York Times Historical 1851 - 2003
Available from ProQuest through Hunter Library
Provides full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century.
Database contains full text
Newspaper Source 1996 - present
Available from EBSCOhost through NC LIVE
Contains full text for 180 regional U.S. newspapers, 23 national and international newspapers, six newswires, nine newspaper columns, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Los Angeles Times. This database also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.
Database contains full text
Journal
Titles Covered in Database
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Available from Alexander Street Press through NC LIVE
Over 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials depicting the personal experiences of hundreds of women. Contains materials from Colonial times to 1950.
Database contains full text
NoveList 1994 - present
Available from EBSCOhost NoveList through NC LIVE
An electronic readers' advisory resource for fiction readers. Helps readers find new books based on books they've read or topics in which they are interested. Includes many book reviews.
Database contains full text
Nutrient Data Laboratory
Available from United States Department of Agriculture through the Internet
The U.S. Department of Agriculture's Nutrient Data Laboratory offers a Nutrient Database and many other tools giving detailed information on nutrition. The Nutrient Database provides specific listings of nutrient amounts in various foods. This database is available free on the Internet and it has been selected by Ann Hallyburton, Health Sciences Liaison, as appropriate for authority and content of information in the subject area(s) of the health professions.
Office of Dietary Supplements
Available from Office of Dietary Supplements through the Internet
The National Institutes of Health Office of Dietary Supplements provides information on dietary supplement use and safety, nutrient recommendations, database resources, news and events dealing with dietary supplements, research, and funding opportunities. This database is available free on the Internet and it has been selected by Ann Hallyburton, Health Sciences Liaison, as appropriate for authority and content of information in the subject area(s) of the health professions.
Open Access Journals in the Field of Education
Available from American Educational Research Association through the Internet
This database is available free on the Internet and it has been selected by Hunter Librarians, as appropriate for authority and content of information in the subject area of education.
Database contains full text
Oxford English Dictionary
Available from Oxford University Press through Hunter Library
OED Online contains the text of the OED twenty-volume print edition. Each entry provides a definition, etymology, pronunciation, variant spellings, quotations, and a date chart.
Database contains full text
Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection
Available from Oxford University Press through Hunter Library
Provides authoritative information from over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. In addition this database contains comprehensive scholarly articles from an expanding range of key titles in the Oxford Companions series and also includes the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations.
Database contains full text
Oxford Scholarship Online
Available from Oxford University Press through Hunter Library
Oxford Scholarship Online is a cross-searchable library containing the full text of over 1,350 Oxford University Press books in the areas of Economics and Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. Specially-commissioned abstracts and keywords are available at book and chapter levels. Also, the library’s full content is searchable at both the book and chapter levels.
Database contains full text
PapersFirst 1993 - present
Available from FirstSearch through Hunter Library
Interdisciplinary database that indexes the publications of conferences, symposiums, expositions, workshops, meetings, and congresses held worldwide.
Database contains citations
Parliament Rolls of Medieval England
Available from Scholarly Digital Editions through Hunter Library
Full text of the surviving "official records of the meetings of the English parliament" from 1272-1509. Includes transcriptions of the original text as recorded (in Latin, Anglo-Norman, or Middle English), along with an English translation. View over 100 color digital images of key documents. Additional scholarly materials, including an introduction for every parliament entry, provide historical context. Browse by king, then date of parliament, or search the full text.
Database contains full text
PBS Video Collection
Available from NC LIVE through State of North Carolina
See NC Live Media Collection.
Database contains video
PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database 1929 - present
Available from Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy through the Internet
Provides indexing and some abstracts for articles on evidence-based physical therapy practice. Offers bibliographic information on evidence-based clinical practice guidelines, systematic reviews, and randomized controlled trials. Most trials in the database are quality rated. This database is available free on the Internet and it has been selected by Ann Hallyburton, Health Sciences Liaison, as appropriate for authority and content of information in the subject area(s) of the health professions.
Philosopher's Index 1940 - present
Available from FirstSearch through Hunter Library
An index with abstracts for journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews. It covers the major fields of philosophy, including aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, and the philosophy of related fields such as education, history, law and religion.
Database contains abstracts
Physical Education Index 1970 - present
Available from ProQuest CSA Illumina through Hunter Library
An index to peer-reviewed journals, reports, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, and many other publications. Topics include physical education curricula, sports medicine, sports law,kinesiology, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered. Links to available full text.
Primary Search 1989 - present
Available from EBSCOhost through NC LIVE
Indexing and abstracting of 160 children's magazines; full text for 60 of them. Also includes Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, the World Almanac for Kids, and the World Almanac of the USA.
Database contains full text
Journal
Titles Covered in Database
ProceedingsFirst 1993 - present
Available from FirstSearch through Hunter Library
Interdisciplinary. Describes publications from worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, symposia, etc.
Database contains citations
Project Muse 1993 - present
Available from Johns Hopkins University Press through Hunter Library
Provides online access to the full text of over 200 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Database contains full text